Left to right: Councilmember James R. Bozajian, Mayor pro Tem Fred Gaines, Mayor Mary Sue Maurer,
Councilmember Alicia Weintraub and Councilmember David J. Shapiro

The City Council is composed of five members elected at large on a non-partisan basis to serve four year overlapping terms.  Municipal elections are held the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November (as of 2015) of odd numbered years, with three Council members selected at one election and two at the next.

The Council is the legislative policy-making branch of City government. It is the Council's responsibility to enact ordinances, resolutions and orders necessary for governing the affairs of the City, to approve or amend the annual budget, to authorize contracts on behalf of the City, act as the final appeal body on rulings of commissions, appoint the City Manager, and all members of the various commissions and committees.

The Mayor is selected by the City Council, from one of its members, for a one year term and serves as the official representative of the City for all legislative and ceremonial purposes. The Mayor is the presiding officer at City Council meetings and executes legal instruments and documents. However, the Mayor is not vested with administrative authority.

The regular meeting of the City Council is a vital part of the democratic process in the conduct of the City's affairs. It is at Council meetings that laws, policies and basic decisions are made for the government of Calabasas. All meetings of the City Council are open to the public and citizens are encouraged to attend to learn more about how the City operates. City Council meetings are held in the Council Chambers, 100 Civic Center Way, at 7:00 p.m., on the second and fourth Wednesday of each month (Subject to change. Please check the City calendar).

The City Council agenda is the official order of business at Council meetings. Items for the agenda are prepared and submitted to the City Council by the City Manager and staff.

Email the Council

Mary Sue Maurer

Fred Gaines

James R. Bozajian

David J. Shapiro

Alicia Weintraub

Receive City Council agendas via Email


Current Agenda
Past Agendas
Archived City Council Meetings
Council History
Council Appointments
State of the City Address
Municipal Elections
Council Protocols

City of Calabasas 2017